Mission and Objectives

The University of Arkansas provides several options for students to pursue education more broadly than one field of undergraduate study might allow, including interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary programs. These programs allow broader instruction and research opportunities, especially in emerging fields that haven’t reached the academic breadth to constitute a full academic department or in cases in which collaboration between one or more departments allows faculty from each existing department to contribute to the interdisciplinary or multidisciplinary major. In the Catalog of Studies, requirements for each interdisciplinary program are listed in the chapter of the college or school that oversees the program.

Three interdisciplinary minors — Microelectronics-Photonics, Nanotechnology, and Planning — are not administered by a single academic department. The minor in Microelectronics-Photonics is administered by the Division of Interdisciplinary Studies in the Graduate School. The minor in Nanotechnology is administered by the Provost’s Office. The minor in Planning is jointly administered by the departments of Landscape Architecture and Political Science. The requirements for completing each minor are at their respective links.