The University of Arkansas School of Law’s tuition and financial aid packages are designed to help make the cost of pursuing a law school education reasonable regardless of a student’s financial circumstances.
Fee and Cost Estimates
Educational expenses will vary according to a student’s course of study, personal needs, and place of residence. Student progress or general course of action in pursuit of higher education at the University of Arkansas is determined during the application and acceptance process. At the conclusion of the application and acceptance process, the progress or general course of action for each student will be assigned a category, called a career.
The career categories at the University of Arkansas — in order of magnitude by the cost of tuition per credit hour — are Agricultural & Food Law, Law, Graduate, and Undergraduate. Students concurrently enrolled in multiple careers will be assigned one primary career for all tuition billing purposes, called a billing career, based on the order of magnitude listed above. The Office of the Registrar is responsible for assigning the appropriate billing career. Base tuition is assessed per credit hour of enrollment unless otherwise specified. Students enrolled in Fayetteville campus courses, off-campus courses offered at the Rogers location, the online degree program of Agricultural & Food Law LL.M., or any combination of these concurrently with online classes are charged base tuition per billing career and program plus non-resident tuition as determined by the student’s residency status for tuition billing purposes. All fees, charges, and costs quoted in this catalog are subject to change without notice. A survey tool for tuition and fee estimation is available at the Treasurer's website.
Financial obligations to the University of Arkansas must be satisfied by the established deadlines. E-check (electronic check) and credit/debit payments are made online on UAConnect. If you pay with a debit or credit card, there is a convenience fee charged of 1.8 percent.
Acceptance of payment for fees does not imply academic acceptance to the university.
Estimated Necessary Expenses for an Academic Year
Estimates of necessary expenses for the 2022-23 academic year for a typical law student taking 30 credit hours at the University of Arkansas:
|Fee||Resident Law Student||Non-resident Law Student||International Law Student|
The standard law in-state tuition rate is $516.68 per credit hour. Students enrolled in Agricultural and Food Law are charged $516.68 per credit hour in-state tuition.
University fees per year include the following student-initiated and student-approved fees:
- Student Activity fee calculated at $2.64/credit hour — $79.20
- Student Health fee, calculated at $7.69/credit hour — $230.70
- Media fee, calculated at $0.90/credit hour — $27.00
- Transit fee, calculated at $3.62/credit hour — $108.60
- Network Infrastructure and Data Systems fee at $12.10/credit hour — $363.00
- Facilities Fee, calculated at $23.35/credit hour — $700.50
- Library Fee, calculated at $4.41/credit hour — $132.30
- Law Fee, calculated at $25.24/credit hour — $757.20
Weighted average expenses for living in a residence hall, double occupancy, with an unlimited meal plan. Actual room and board fees vary.
Budget amounts were adjusted for rounding to accommodate UAConnect budgetary rules.
When paying tuition, room and board, and associated fees, anticipated financial aid for a current semester may be deducted when it is listed as anticipated aid on the student’s account. Students receiving financial aid are strongly encouraged to have sufficient personal funds available to purchase books and to meet necessary expenses for at least one month at the start of school as some aid funds may not be available for disbursement.
Students classified as “in-state” for fee payment purposes are assessed tuition. Students classified as “out-of-state” for fee payment purposes are assessed additional non-resident tuition.
Official policies of the University of Arkansas Board of Trustees provide the basis for classifying students as either “in-state” or “out-of-state” for purposes of paying student fees. Board policies relating to residency status for fee payment purposes are included at the end of this chapter of the catalog. Out-of-state students who question their residency classification are encouraged to contact the Registrar’s Office, 146 Silas H. Hunt Hall, for more information about residency classification review procedures.
Law students are assessed tuition of $516.68 per credit hour. Students with out-of-state residency status are assessed tuition of $1,244.47 per credit hour.
Law students enrolled in Agricultural and Food Law are charged tuition of $516.68 per credit hour in-state and $1,244.47 per credit hour for out-of-state students.
Distance Education Fees
Courses and exams taken online through the university's Global Campus or via an extension service incur an additional fee:
|Global Campus Fee||$30.00|
|Premium Online Proctored Exam "Take It Now" Fee||$8.75|
|Premium Online Proctored Exam "Take It Soon" Fee||$5.00|
|Proctoring Fee – Self-Paced Online Correspondence Courses||$8.00|
|Online Proctoring Fee for Credit by Exam||$25.00|
Find out about costs of the Master of Laws program at the LL.M. page.
The Enrollment Services Graduation Fee for J.D. and LL.M. degrees is $65.
(Rates are subject to change)
Housing for married students, students with family status, nontraditional, graduate, and law students is limited and requires early application.
Summer rates for room and board in university residence halls during summer sessions are available through the Housing Office. Charges start on the requested move-in day and run through the date of check-out. Contact University Housing for information on meal plans 479-575-3951.
Students eligible to live off-campus may contact local real estate offices for rental information or check offcampushousing.uark.edu.
Specific questions concerning on-campus meal plans may be directed to University Housing 479-575-3951 or visit the Dining on Campus website.
A currently enrolled student who has registered during the advance registration period should make any necessary or desired schedule adjustments such as adding or dropping courses or changing course sections during the schedule-adjustment period of the same semester. Students who drop classes will have their fees adjusted according to Fayetteville Policies and Procedures 330.0 – Tuition and Fee Adjustment Policy for Dropping Classes. Drops and withdrawals are two different functions. In a drop process, the student remains enrolled. The result of the withdrawal process is that the student is no longer enrolled for the term. Fee adjustment deadlines for an official withdrawal are noted in Fayetteville Policies and Procedures 518.0 – Tuition and Fee Adjustment Policy for Official Withdrawal.
Students who pre-register for a semester will be invoiced approximately six weeks prior to the first day of classes. The Treasurer’s Office will send out an email notification when the student invoices are available on UAConnect. Students should log into UAConnect, navigate to the Treasurer's Office tile, and click the ‘Student Invoice’ link.
Students are required to pay all charges by the posted payment deadline. Students who fail to pay all charges or who fail to execute an installment payment plan by the deadline may be assessed a late payment fee equal to the outstanding balance, not to exceed $75.00.
Any student with an outstanding balance, to include registration-related fees and/or housing charges, by the last payment deadline will be assessed an additional late payment fee equal to the outstanding balance, not to exceed $75.00.
The late fee will not be waived because an invoice was not received.
Disbursement of Refunds
Disbursement of refunds due to overpayments by scholarships, loans, and/or grants will begin approximately five days prior to the start of classes.
The University of Arkansas has partnered with BankMobile to deliver financial aid and other school refunds to the University of Arkansas students. For more information visit the BankMobile page.
Students may create a check address, which will be used specifically for overpayment checks. This address may be created in addition to the local and permanent addresses. If a check address is not created, the default address will be the permanent address. The student may change their address in the Student Center section of UAConnect.
Students Called into Active Military Service
When a student or student’s spouse is activated for full-time military service and is required to cease attending the University of Arkansas without completing and receiving a grade in one or more courses, they shall receive compensation for the resulting monetary loss as provided by Fayetteville Policy 504.2. The student must cease attendance because 1) the student is activated or deployed by the military or 2) the student’s spouse is activated or deployed by the military and the student or student’s spouse has dependent children residing in the household.
To be eligible for the compensation, the student must provide, prior to activation or deployment for military service, an original or official copy of the military activation or deployment orders to the university's Veterans Resource and Information Center. A student whose spouse is a service member shall provide proof of registration with the Defense Enrollment Eligibility Reporting System (DEERS) of the Department of the Defense that establishes that dependent children reside in the household of the student and the service member.
Upon leaving the University of Arkansas because of active duty or deployment, the student may choose one of three compensatory options. The student may officially withdraw and receive full adjustment and refund of tuition and non-consumable fees for the term involved; the student can remain enrolled and arrange for a mark of “Incomplete” for each class and finish the courses 12 months after deactivation; or the student may receive free tuition and fees for one semester after deactivation. For more detailed information, read Fayetteville Policy 504.2.